UK eInformation Group

Web 2.0 Updates

State of the Twittersphere – Q4 2008 Report

State of the Twittersphere – Q4 2008 Report has been published by HubSpot, whose blog covers all of inbound marketing – SEO, Blogging, Social Media, Landing Pages, Lead Generation and Analytics.

It reports is based on data pulled from hundreds of thousands of Twitter profiles. The full PDF report is available for download.

The findings include:

  • Twitter is dominated by newer users – 70% of Twitter users joined in 2008
  • An estimated 5-10 thousand new accounts are opened per day
  • 35% of Twitter users have 10 or fewer followers
  • 9% of Twitter users follow no one at all
  • There is a strong correlation between the number of followers you have and the number of people you follow

The last one in the list does not surprise me as many people automatically respond to a notification of a follower by reciprocating.  I am curious about the statistic that 9% of Twitter users follow no-one at all.  Did they just give up once they had created the account because they could not work out how to find people to follow? Do they tweet at all? Or are they just using it as a marketing or current awareness/alert channel?

December 29, 2008 - Posted by | Twitter

2 Comments

  1. I’m one of the people who joined Twitter in 2008 and didn’t have the faintest idea what to do with it until I’d spent a bit of ‘dirt time’ in the various pages (including http://www.monitter.com) and seeing how others were using it. Then of course it became abundantly clear 🙂

    It’s easy enough to grasp the technology but it took an extra push for me to make the leap of imagination in seeing how it would be useful to me, which it is. Now I’m reasonably evangelical about it, and FriendFeed too.

    Comment by Jo Brodie | December 29, 2008

  2. Hi Jo,

    Thanks for the feedback.

    I joined Twitter in late 2007 when I met PatrickD at Internet Librarian International who told me he was Twittering the event. Forget about the light dawning it was more like floodlights! Until then I thought Twitter was a complete waste of time but I have been hooked ever since. As you say, you need a leap of imagination or, in my case, someone to push the button that connects the technology to the way you work and communicate within your network.

    On FriendFeed I ought to do a long posting here about it as I get so much feed back via that route.

    Comment by ukeig | December 29, 2008


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

